A Christmas preview

Preview project plans

It has been my plan for the past few months, ever since I dreamed up this crazy blog, to start it in January and do a craft project per week in 2011. But of course just thinking about the blog was enough to encourage me to start a few projects. A couple of months ago I picked up a long dormant knitting project again which you will hopefully see as it nears completion. And yesterday, with just two weeks to go before the official start of the blog, I couldn’t help myself and started a building project for the first time. This week will be a bit of a preview of what is to come in 2011.

I don’t remember how I first found Ana White’s blog, Knock-Off Wood, but her building plans were a revelation. It had never occurred to me that I could build my own furniture before. I immediately began dreaming of the pieces I would build and where in my little townhouse I would put them.

That was over a year ago and this weekend I finally started work on one of her plans. Join me throughout the week as I share my sometimes frustrating, sometimes triumphant experiences shopping for wood, using power tools, and building and finishing furniture — all for the first time (and hopefully in time for Christmas).

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.